Xmas Tree Cat

Simba's favourite place at Christmas:-)

Ventured into Perth today to get one or two things.  One shop and I'd had enough and we came straight back home!  Far too many people for my liking!

I decided to make some scones as part of the Afternoon Tea I'll be serving to friends tomorrow.  I've been making scones of all sorts - plain, fruit, cheese, herb etc for more years than I care to remember and never had a problem with them.  Today, however, I made four separate batches of - biscuits!!!  

I followed my usual recipe to the letter, using plain flour and baking powder initially.  When they didn't rise, I tried self-raising flour.  No joy there either, so I used self-raising flour and baking powder, thinking they'd hit the roof of the oven.  No - flat as pancakes!  I have no idea what I am doing wrong, as I was so careful with the later batches - not too wet (a scone killer, I know), not too dry, oven temperature correct etc.  

I don't like to blame my tools, but the only thing I could think of is that my scales are kaput!  It will be shop-bought scones tomorrow until I get some new scales:-)

PS  TJ quite liked the "biscuits", so they won't go to waste:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.