Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

One techie thing sorted, another still a puzzle...

This new flash router/modem/wifi all-in-one wonder machine thingie from my preferred media supplier has flashing lights and you could sit and look at it quite happily for ages, but has proved to be rather useless at going through walls and round corners. My old, plain, unflashy wifi did so without much bother. I could sit in bed and watch iPlayer no bother. This new fangled one won't even play a YouTube video on 'How to take long exposures'.

So there was nothing for it but to get under the computer table, unplug and untangle the many cables and move the new fangled thingie into the hallway - ie equidistant between my computer room and my bedroom (where I seem to spend most of my life). Sorted!

It took quite a while, mainly because, while I was scrabbling around where nobody has scrabbled for a many a long month year, JR chirpily suggested I might as well dust and hoover. This did seem a reasonable, though inconvenient, suggestion.

I wanted to go out and have a go with my new filter, even though it was a bit dreich. I needed water. 'What about the canal?' JR's suggestion was dismissed, as the water doesn't exactly move much. No, the beach or a river it must be. And so we set off, JR with her book, and me with all my gear, looking like I knew what I was doing.

But indeed I didn't... my long exposures came out blank white. Something not right there... Will need to read up a bit more. I followed the instructions on the video - ISO 100, F22, Manual focus, Manual setting, BULB, cover the eyepiece, remote control open for 2 minutes. The lens turns round and there isn't an easy way to see if it's at maximum darkness or minimum, so that could be the problem. And then it started to rain, and it's no fun standing for 2 minutes at a time to take photos. So I didn't do too many. AND I got my feet wet.

However, a bowl of soup at Falko's cafe in Gullane did help a bit.

So this is taken from the lovely wee harbour at Port Seton/Cockenzie, looking back to Edinburgh and Arthur's Seat, with the picturesque power station blotting the horizon. But I thought it added to the dark, brooding, menacing, foreboding (OK, OK!) feeling. I can see the Forth Bridge too!

And we got a huge takeaway scone, which awaits, and I can smell the coffee. Yum yum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.