End of an Era

This family run jewellers has been in St Neots for many years. Over the past few weeks it had been selling off its stock and looking busy. Today is the first time I had seen it empty. I have never shopped there but thought I might use a photo to comment on the loss of independent shops.

As I was taking this photo an elderly lady stopped and asked me why I was photographing the sign.....then she read it and was so upset that she almost started to cry. She now lives in Malta and remembered having her ears pierced in the shop about 50 years ago. She said, "It was terrible and I fainted. Old Mr Johnson had to run next door to get someone to help him and get me some water."

Suddenly I saw that closure sign in an empty shop in a new light. How many people would have memories of buying engagement and wedding rings, silver cups to commemorate christenings and retirements in that little shop. And what will happen to the shop now?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.