Trial and Error

By DawnC

The Dancers

I noticed this sculpture (you can't really miss it) while I was sitting in a traffic jam in Guildford this afternoon en route to Dorking for the Council for British Archaeology (South East) Conference and AGM. I think the sculpture is rather cool. It's outside an accountancy firm, of all places.

I arrived a few minutes before the conference was due to start and saw that everyone was still indulging in pre-conference schmoozing so I nipped to the loo and then went to join in. I was impressed to see that wine and nibbles were provided so I took a glass of red and a couple of canapes and started mingling. A little way into a chat with a nice lady it transpired that I had inadvertently gatecrashed a Roman Studies Group gathering! She pointed me in the direction of the room next door so I put my unfinished wine down and snuck into a seat at the back.

Anyway the conference (once I got there) was really interesting with talks on geology, the earliest Neolithic communities in Britain, and prehistoric field systems. There was tea and biscuits at half-time. And it was nice to see some people I hadn't seen for a while too, including my friend Trudi who I don't travel with any more because we talk too much and get lost ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.