The dropped stitch

By Bodkin

A day of games and puzzles

A pyjama day for the grandchildren. 
Lots of jigsaws completed and games played, with Freyja and Rio. Mason and I are working our way through a book of Christmas crosswords.
 
We spent all day indoors except for the briefest walk. Once I'd managed to persuade 2 out of 3 little ones to come, the lengthy preparations began.....first removal of pjs, then 'discussions' about who would wear what;  then the question - were jumpers necessary? (yes! and your warmest coat!); where were the wellies?; gloves for all to be found, though I insisted it didn't matter if you didn't have a matching pair, (I was getting desperate and it was getting dark by now...)
Finally, all suitably clad, I wrestled the pushchair down the step out of the back door - just as the snow started. 
We made it 100 yards up the road, but I for one couldn't bear the cold! Freyja was probably the best off, tucked up in her cosy toes, and Rio wasn't complaining but was walking VERY slowly. So - we abandoned the plan to get sweets at the shop and headed home. I found jelly babies in the cupboard and they had one each, and returned happily to the games and puzzles.

Christmas tree picture by Mason age 8.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.