Trust

Today Pearl was relaxed, taking her ease beneath the Christmas Tree. I was less so, aware that tomorrow our lives will change in ways my cat cannot imagine. Tomorrow I bring home the newest member of our family. Tiny, six week old puppy, Lumen, is about to shake up our world. For the last two days, I have been trying to prepare, knowing that all the physical preparing in the world is not going to make things easier. Only the actual presence of the little dog in my  home will ease my mind. My heart's response will dissolve my mental struggle, and the power of love will help me to deal with all the adjustments that must be made. Whether by woman or cat... 

As a dancer, I have nurtured my talent for improvisation, and in the dance, it has dependably eased my way. I suppose it has done the same as I have lived my life, raised two children, three dogs, and numerous cats. And as I have loved those who have shared my world at various times and in various places. I have moved through fear, and acted in spite of indecision, carried on regardless of doubts that I can. 

Again, I find myself trembling on the brink. Again I remind myself that what I feel is movement, the necessary shifting that must take place when we choose to live. I carry on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.