2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Is this allowed?

When I was just a little boy my Father said to me..........

Come here and learn to change a plug!

It's a life skill that has stood me in good stead for decades now.

But as I checked the wiring on this plug this morning, shortened the wires and stripped the plastic using the time tested method of sticking it between my teeth (!), I wondered whether we have reached a point where we aren't actually supposed to change our own plugs these days............

Can you still buy a plug? We have a few that we have taken off appliances over the years (until they started sealing them onto appliances!) So they may well have increased in value :)

Anyway the Hoover (actually it's a Miele!) works fine again.

Disclaimer Please do not accept the photo as the definitive method of wiring a plug. If in doubt always consult a professional electrician. It's up to you to find the professional and you should probably check his/her qualifications before allowing him/her to change the plug. Best to check the callout fee as well because it might be cheaper to buy a new appliance

I think that covers it.
Have a great weekend folks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.