Sausage for supper?

This lovely sausage tree, Kigella pinnata, resides in the garden. It has produced prolifically this year, but on the whole the fruit are totally useless. The flowers are a beautiful colour and are eaten by a few animals when they fall for the nectar. 
The rind of the fruit is apparently used in fermentation of local brews and  an ointment of sorts can be made to treat skin conditions.....
Black Tulip and others with snake phobias...dont look at the extra BUT today I saw my first live snake in the farm game park. It was a 7ft + python (protected species here) and as I only had the birding lens I could only get a shot of its face.  Beady eye looking at you! It would only be dangerous to a very young impala, but mice and rats etc need to watch out! 
We are off to the Kruger Park again for New Year so I will be out of communication for the next three days.  
Here's wishing you all an adventure filled and healthy 2018.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.