Silly Saturday: A Cold Walk

Son #2 has come to visit for a few days so we thought it would be nice to go for a walk.

Silly #1: We believed the weather forecast that it would be better in the afternoon than the morning (it wasn't).

Silly #2: We thought a walk at the nearby Rising Sun Country Park would be nice. It wasn't: all the tracks were covered with wet sheet ice after yesterday's snow - we didn't want to break any bones so we gave up and drove to the coast at St Mary's Island where we reckoned there would be much less snow/ice (in that we were correct).

Silly #3: Although there was very little ice, it was blowing a gale and freezing cold, so it was really rather silly and we only stayed long enough to get our cobwebs blown away.

Sensible #1: We drove home and had some warm mulled wine, and a mince pie, followed by a cup of tea.

The expedition did get me my blip though - slightly similar to my "extra" from Tuesday but looking rather less clement!

I also grabbed a shot of the resident stag while we were at the Rising Sun (see the extra). I've blipped him twice before (here and here). His antlers look smaller than last time and I think he's going grey (like me) - I thought perhaps it was just the time of year but my first previous blip was at a similar time.

Many thanks to admirer for looking after Silly Saturday so well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.