An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Little Miss Patience...

Backblip

Whenever I am preparing food, there’s only one place Lola will be, and that’s under the kitchen worktop sitting at usually on my feet, waiting patiently for me to drop something worth eating. Since Lola thinks everything is worth eating, that could be anything!

Well our day didn’t quite go according to plan.

I texted Gail late morning to say we were looking forward to seeing her and Alan and the rest of the group this evening only for Alan to ring a few minutes later, full of apologies, to say the evening was cancelled as Gail has caught this horrible flu virus. She had sent a message to Eleanor, Diane and me yesterday but I didn’t receive it.

Poor Gail, I know a few people who have it and their Christmas has been ruined. Luckily she had a good Christmas but has felt steadily worse since the 27th. Hopefully we can rearrange to get together soon.

Our unexpected night at home wasn’t wasted as we used it to prepare for our own Hogmanay get together with Ele, Kenny, Agnes and Adrian tomorrow night. David even set the dining table for dinner on New Year’s Day.

I’d just finished ironing all the bedding for the guest rooms when I got a text from my nephew Andrew to say him and his girlfriend Nikki and my niece Jennifer were taking me up on my offer to stay over on New Year’s Day, so I plugged the iron back in and ironed another two sets of bedding. Thank heavens for the new bed settees :-)

So all that’s really left to be done tomorrow is make the soup for New Year’s Day and a little food prep for the Hogmanay buffet (Lola will be back under the worktop for that!)

I think this has been my most organised festive season ever. Here’s hoping I can serve dinner on New Year’s Day a bit earlier than I did on Christmas Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.