Late Flowering

It's that time of year again when a round up of the year's movies is very much in order. I don’t think I’m going to squeeze in Star Wars before the turn of the year, but I hae ma doots that it would make MrP’s eagerly awaited cut anyway. One thing I did squeeze in, between a bit of gardening and wandering around a shattered Boston evading the infected, was the last of the M&S ‘nibbles’. I’m beginning to lust after a salad. How bad is that?
So! MrP’s top twelve movies of 2017. Well, I just couldn’t trim it to ten: Ms Huppert would never have spoken to me again. Haw. In reverse order (sounds trumpet): 

12. Personal Shopper - quite strange and genuinely unnerving, I got the goosebumps at several points. That’s got to be good, surely.
11. Elle - a just fabulous performance from I.Huppert who dominates nearly every scene. Disturbing too:that’s good, right?
10. Wind River - such a great big treat of a film; some flaws I do loftily declare, and a bit of nastiness too, but a bit like the Revenant - the country is the star.
9. Detroit - such an authentic feel (from someone who wasn’t there) to so many of the scenes. One of which is almost unwatchable in its malevolence. 
8. Baby Driver - at last, a film which is just pure entertainment and nonsense, and probably the last time we’ll see Mr Spacey
7. The Measure of a Man - stayed with me all year, way beyond any Ken Loach, just the undramatic demoralising truth about poverty and these times.
6. Suntan - what a powerful claustrophobic, humiliating film - again, all good! Utterly compelling and nightmarish.
5. Get Out - a total blast of a film, going where least expected, hilarious and creepy.
4. The Florida Project - huge joy and the deepest sadness. The children are just amazing, but the adult backdrop is tragic and spellbinding.
3. La La Land - so long ago I’d forgotten it was this year (well, when I saw it) and just what a great piece of entertainment it was. 
2. The Levelling - easily the best British film I’ve seen for a long time; such great acting, no overplaying and a dark brooding feeling throughout. 
1. Mother! - how good was this. Right from the off, with the apparent normality, which then takes off somewhere else entirely. And keeps going. Ooof!!!

Right, that’s yer lot. Got to dust the stairs to see the New Year in. It's a thing.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.