My Eyes Mind

By Miakarina

Shades of Death Road - Ghost Lake

Well, Shades of Death Road was not scary at all.
I did a bit of research and history & legend say the Lenni-Lenape people who used to occupy this valley; died of diseases such as malaria and tuberculosis, which were rampant in the area. At one point, they were attacked by an Iroquois tribe along where Shades of Death Road is located.

After a horrific battle the Lenni-Lenape were slaughtered, leading many to believe that their tormented spirits haunt the area to this very day, creeping through the misty fog that blankets the valley frequently.

At some points the road runs alongside eerie Ghost Lake (pictured above though not eerie today) which is sometimes blanketed by wispy fog and inhabited by lush foliage and an amazing array of wildlife.

Due to the towering, twisted trees that cast a gloomy shadow over much of the roadway, it became known to the locals as "The Shades." Legend states that there were numerous deaths from car accidents & unsolved killings along this road; many people were said to have been attacked and killed by wildcats.

Thankfully it was a nice sunny day today so nothing to be scared of except this guy who drove back into the area where I was photographing this lake. I got a bit nervous because it was fairly isolated and no one else was there. He was taking something out of his car & my imagination started playing tricks on me. Then, I realized it was his camera. I still got out of there VERY quickly :)

Try larger......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.