Just for now

The clouds gathering on the horizon above Fishguard this evening brought to mind Rev Eli Jenkins' Prayer from Under Milk Wood by Dylan Thomas. (It was filmed in Fishguard but is not strictly about the place except in a generic sense.)


Every morning when I wake,
Dear Lord, a little prayer I make,
O please do keep Thy lovely eye
On all poor creatures born to die

And every evening at sun-down
I ask a blessing on the town,
For whether we last the night or no
I'm sure is always touch-and-go.

We are not wholly bad or good
Who live our lives under Milk Wood,
And Thou, I know, wilt be the first
To see our best side, not our worst.

O let us see another day!
Bless us all this night, I pray,
And to the sun we all will bow
And say, good-bye - but just for now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.