Hawfinch

Having got the heads up the Hawfinches were back down in the forest I hot-footed it down there to see them for myself, even in the rain. 

I was well set up with a bag of mixed nuts (well it is Christmas) and a birdsong App on my phone to lure the gullible ones in. Both ploys worked a treat and if it wasn't for walkers, dog walkers, Tilly growling at said dogs, cyclists, dubious carol singers and another birder who got out of his car and set his tripod up in full view, there is no doubt I'd have got more shots. However patience paid off and I'm happy with it. 

Even better, on the way home as it was dropping dark with gloomy clouds, I came across six wild boar so shunted the car quickly into a forked lane leading to a carpark thereby blocking it and happily pinged away on the camera shutter. I was soon joined by others with cameras and iPhones. 

I would like to wish everyone a very very happy New Year and all the best for 2018! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.