Makethemost

By Makethemost

The Path to Catbells

This is my very last Blipfoto. I started the year with a project to post an image every day for 365 days. Living in the Lakes, some days were easy when the sun shone and everything sparkled. Other days were downright impossible when it rained from dawn to dusk. That challenge of having to find a daily subject has made me more resourceful and more observant. I have achieved it with a great sense of satisfaction. Along the way, I have benefitted from seeing the work of so many talented photographers who have given me ideas on how to improve my own skills. That has been an unexpected bonus. Thank you too for all the stars and hearts which have spurred me on.

I was originally inspired to go for this challenge by following Earthdreamer's journal. He started on May 1st 2011 and I have seen most of his entries over the past 6 years. It only took me another five years to get cracking myself.

So, for my final Blip, I felt a New Year's Eve clamber up Catbells was in order. This iconic little fell is a favourite for many, giving as it does superb views over the Newlands Valley, across Derwentwater to Keswick and beyond to Skiddaw and Blencathra. The view here is looking southwards to the knobbly summit of Catbells itself. 

Catbells is my perennial favourite, not least because Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle lives in a burrow beneath it, and most of the special people in my life have climbed it with me at one time or another. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.