Here and Now

By Mole

But my hands are warm!

Ok. I confess. I pulled this out of Dec 27 extras. But it’s probably the best photo I took this year and I wanted to end on a high note. I hope Blip will forgive me this one infraction.

I’m preparing (crockpot) pork and sauerkraut which, for many is a new year’s tradition. I don’t know why, but I suspect the apples and sauerkraut symbolize the sweetness and sourness (sorrow) of life. Anyway, that’s what I’ve been mulling over as I go about my kitchen biz.

My intermittent reading throughout the day between bird-feeding, a tromp in the deep snow), and meals has taken me through bits by Marcus Aurelius, Rainer Maria Wilke, and Rumi.

THE GUEST HOUSE
This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

- Rumi, as translated by Coleman Barks

In 2017 I invited, welcomed, and entertained all to the best of my ability, which was significantly greater than in past years. So ‘atta girl Mole!

And now I can dive back into Louise Penny’s latest, Glass Houses.

Happy, healthy, peaceful, and accepting new year to all of you in Blipland!

PS Late addition of sunset extra thanks to my husband who pointed it out to me. Nice way to close the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.