memento

By memento

New friend

Chances are you have experienced this so you know what I mean: you meet someone face to face after some correspondence and all of a sudden it feels as if you've known them all your life.

I've never attended any of these Scott Kelby Worldwide Photo Walks, so I didn't know what to expect. New friend JCD graciously let herself become roped in and I was thrilled because I probably wouldn't have done it on my own. She is as smart, funny and warm in person as she is on blip, with a lovely face to boot.

Our location was switched due to rain, from a river bridge and skyline shoot to smack dab in the middle of downtown. JCD knows every building and its history and pointed out all the cool lobbies and architecture. It made it even more fun; I felt like I had somehow, miraculously obtained my own, personal tour guide. She could lead one of these walks herself, for sure. I'd be the first one to sign up.

Between the tops of the many tall buildings that were somewhere up there in the mist, the mysterious glow of lights, streets that were wonderfully glossy with soft, smudgy reflections and the light rail coming through periodically, there were some great photo opportunities. Other than stuck-up security guards at our starting point and the bicycle cab driving zombie who made me feel like I was a little kid who did something very wrong, I loved it.

Without a doubt, the very greatest thing about it was the new friend I met. Tomorrow I will meet the famous Henry at the dog park and I can't wait. I better bake him some dog treats as I've been told he can be choosey about who he befriends immediately.

If all that link clicking above is annoying, you can view them as a slide show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.