Mono Mountains Monday

Firstly, thanks to you for all the appreciation of yesterday's composite New Year Blip, I am astonished!

Starting the New Year with reflections, I began to wonder when I shall have to count myself as an armchair mountaineeer as I was looking through the long lens to the windswept Trient Glacier this morning. I remembered the many times I had crossed it and realized that the last time must be 10 years ago! Part of this beautiful poem of Tietjens, The Most-Sacred Mountain, came to mind....

"Yet, having known, life will not press so close, and always I shall feel time ravel thin about me;
For once I stood
In the white windy presence of eternity."

Fortunate to have had the opportunities to live, and love, in the Alps, to feeling my heart opening in these majestic mountains, I am so glad to share them with you. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.