In-pea-briated

The 'in between' days of Christmas and New Year are perfect for eating pizza with my old work friend Rachel. Also perfect for getting a 'dessert pizza' (Nutella on a crispy base that is so sweet it hurts the teeth).

I went to London in the evening to meet Daniel, a friend I hadn't seen for five years but who is now excelling at the quintessential hipster lifestyle: living on a barge with his husband and dog. Currently moored in Kings Cross, and he's given up full time work to go freelance. It all sounds delightful, even when I enquired fearfully about the damp cold winter on the water. Their log-burning stove makes everything very cosy.

Dan was supposed to meet me for a few drinks and then pick up some peas to take home so they could eat cottage pie for tea. Eight pints later at midnight, I had enough time to bolt for the last Cambridge train, and Dan had resigned himself to being in big trouble about four hours earlier. However, such is life in this week where many people aren't working, it's easy to lose track of the day and any adult responsibilities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.