FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

Dry..

.....and depressing.

I walked up our hill this afternoon. When I left it looked like it was going to rain, and with the temperature at 31.7 degrees, I thought that it would soon start to get cooler.  How wrong was I!  An hour later, I returned home, red as a beetroot, and ready to get inside and have a drink.  The temperature had gone down, but only to 28 degrees, so it was still hot.  

While up the hill I took a few photos overlooking our farm.  And how depressing it looks.  Burnt up due to our continuous temperatures in the 30's and no decent rain.

So we've had to farm to the conditions, dry off cows and only milk them once a day.  We've had to purchase more feed for the cows and continue monitoring that they are getting sufficient supplementary feed to keep them milking, and of course keep them in calf.

I feel for Farmerboy having to look and work in it everyday.  We sit and study the weather forecasts and get our hopes up when we see some rain coming, only to be disappointed when that rain comes to nothing.  We keep telling ourselves that it will rain one day - it's just a matter of when.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.