Bricks of Scotland

What a collection EcoDad selected for me from his tour of the allotments.

There was a Hailes brick from the Hailes Estate and Quarry Co Brick Works, which was situated in Slateford, Edinburgh. Locals will be fascinated to know that the Bus Depot stands where the brickworks used to be.

Then there was a Cannerton brick. Cannerton Brickworks were in Banknock, Bonnybridge and established in 1933 on the former Cannerton Colliery Site.

There was the famous Giscol brick which I'd never held in my clammy paw before. GISCOL stands for the Glasgow Iron and Steel Company (Limited). But you probably knew that.

There was even a Coltness brick from the Mayfield Brickworks, Carluke, Lanarkshire .

And, the last one I unwrapped, the mythical Pentland brick from the Pentland Brickworks Near Straiton, Midlothian.

Thanks EcoDad.

Apart from the ceremonial brick unwrapping I made the saltiest soup of all time and have since followed that with a few gallons of tap water.

I dropped Ruby off at work and then went to fetch Archie, who had slept in.

Then I watched Bear Grylls and Rob Brydon air lift a sheep out of a slate quarry - yes the rest of tonight's TV really was that bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.