1YearInAddis

By 1YearInAddis

Race day

So, today was Sunil's first running race as part of the x-country team! It was a nominal 7 km race, although I measured 7.7, and it felt like 7 miles to me!

He did terrifically well, running almost the whole way (said he walked a little bit at the end when the coach wasn't looking :) )

Anj, Aysha and I ran as well. Anj and I get to take the spots of female volleyball players who couldn't make it. (you can check my results under the name "Sophie")

Aysha almost caught me at the end, and I never managed to catch Anj. Oh, the ravages of old age! Good for both of them.

I think the race was sponsored by Pepsi (kidding). Of course, the only drink available at the halfway point and the end was coke. Breakfast of champions. Talk about product placement.

Got to see Haile Gerberselassie, too, who is thought (by some anyway) to be the greatest runner of all time.

Anyway, it was all good fun. Thanks to the the kids' school, ICS, for allowing us to participate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.