JanetH

By JanetH

6th Annual Conker Championship

It has been a glorious day here so we were able to go ahead with the conker championship in my garden. 22 people took part, adults and children, with about another 10 spectators. Five rounds were played in the knock-out tournament. The reigning champion made it to the final, although her conker was looking worse for wear and didn't last very long at all. Yvonne was named the new champion. See our trophy here.

I made it to the second round. In six years I haven't made it into round 3! I started the second without a scratch on the conker but then the cracks very quickly started to show. It made a valiant attempt at holding on, despite chunks flying off in all directions. It was a hard battle and my opponent's conker was showing signs of weakness too. It was touch and go but mine finally gave up. Oh well, I'll have to try again next year!

Great fun was had by all.

I didn't have permission to post a picture of everyone taking part. I tried a few action shots but got a lot of empty pictures with no conkers in sight! At least I managed the above three.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.