Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Wolf Moon

Not quite, I'm a day late for the first full moon of the year.  I saw it out of the front of the house at about 7 am this morning and grabbed a shot knowing the rest of the day was assigned to more painting and wallpaper hanging.  I've actually combined two shots in Photoshop, the first with the branches in focus, the other with the moon surface in focus.  I then layered them in Photoshop and used a darken blend mode to hide the out of focus moon.

I'd never realised they gave the different full moons names.  Depending on who you believe this has its origins in either Native American or Anglo Saxon folklore.  Oh yes, and while I was researching we have two lunar eclipses coming up this year.  On 31st January the total lunar eclipse will be visible in parts of Asia, all of Australasia and the western sea board in the Americas.  Then on 27th July there will be another one visible in most of Europe.

Don't get mixed up with solar eclipses like in the USA last year; these are when the earth comes between the sun and the moon, turning it into a so-called blood moon.  I took some photographs in 2015 of a similar event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.