Old Town Larnaca

We picked my Dad up from Nicosia today - he is on holiday in Cyprus, visiting his Sister in the North, and is staying with us for a couple of days. Mark and I took him to a part of Larnaca formally called Tuzla, which was a Turkish village and where my Dad was born in 1941 and lived until the family moved to the UK when he was about 14 year old. We walked around the old streets for a couple of hours, while my Dad pointed out houses and told us who used to live where. We saw where my Dad's old headmaster lived, the Mosque where he had to go every Friday, the baths which they would visit, the house where he was born. It really was so lovely to see him reminiscing. This is a typical street in the area, with many of the original houses from my Dad's era.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.