Today's Special

By Connections

Parallel Lines...

...and parallel lives.

A few days ago, I heard from a first cousin on my father's side via Ancestry[dot]com, the first time we'd ever been in contact. We're similar in age, and in wanting to share old photos, letters, and stories about our kinfolk.

Our fathers were brothers. Both had shorter lives than they should have, far shorter than my cousin and I have had thus far. 

Through this new connection and the sharing of photos, I've discovered that my white hair echoes that of my paternal aunt, J. She was a librarian in Kansas City, Missouri; I'm a lover of libraries and have a post-graduate diploma in librarianship from the University of Wales in Aberystwyth. I think we would have enjoyed each other's company, and I wish I'd known how to reach her before her death at age 90 in 1988.

R and I are filling in gaps for each other and strengthening our family tree -- a wonderful way to start the new year.

Blip 1902

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.