Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Fungal troop

Today was Alex's 19th birthday, but for him most of it was spent relaxing after a very good evening out on the town with his friends. I didn't hear them come back, and woke at 5am wondering whether all was OK, a feeling that I'm sure is shared by many teenager's parents. I checked his bedroom, but no sign of him! Then I crept downstairs and found him curled up on the floor asleep under the dog's quilt! He blearily opened his eyes, confirmed that he was fine, and promptly fell back to sleep!

Chris and I went out to Old Sulehay Forest in the afternoon, and were pleased to see that the woodland fungi are now appearing in quantity, though most were little brown or greyish ones that we didn't feel competent to identify. I thought this cluster growing on an oak stump were particularly attractive - I'm wondering whether they are a Mycena, possibly M.inclinata, as the description and habitat sound right, but I'm really not sure. Any other opinions would be welcomed!

In the evening Pete and I cooked a celebration Caribbean meal - Levi Roots' Hot Hot Lamb with Roast Root Vegetables, rice and peas, mango salsa and a variety of dips including a spicy pineapple and apricot one, which was really popular. This was followed by Roast Banana Ice Cream - quite an unusual taste and texture! We then watched Prometheus - though I have to admit I fell asleep for part of it which made it all a bit bemusing for a while...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.