Dancersend

By Dancersend

Cheerful fungus

I went to the nature reserve this afternoon to check for further storm damage from Storm Eleanor yesterday. As I arrived the wind was intensifying and being channelled through the valley - I think stronger than yesterday. I started to hear the cracks of large branches breaking away from beech trees on the more exposed side of the valley and decided to venture no further. Instead I explored an area of wet woodland dominated by various willow species along the bottom of the valley. A number of the willows were adorned with bright orange fungi, growing out from their slanting trunks. They were so spectacular I tried hard to make them something special, but in the end had to accept they were Flammulina velutipes or Velvet Shank, one of the commonest species of fungi to be seen in winter... beautiful and cheery nevertheless!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.