Arachne

By Arachne

On the move

S and I have travelled to Meteora, a region of extraordinary rock formations in the northern Greek mainland, many of which have monasteries perched on top*. After a 'flying catamaran' to Volos we caught this train, then a further two over the cotton-growing plain of Thessaly, to Kalambaka. Greek trains make a notorious loss (our tickets were far, far cheaper than an equivalent distance would have cost in the UK) so it's good to see the people contributing to their painting upkeep.

I also took a blipmiss of an underpass at Paleofarsalos station.

We had a wander up one hill this evening and discovered that the monks won't allow trouser-clad women into the monasteries. I am not good at dressing as the patriarchy commands and in any case have no skirt with me. I will report back tomorrow about what happens.

*Google image search of Meteora

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.