Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Club House

Bar and locker rooms and a source of income for some of the local lads who could earn a $ or two as caddies. Naturally also a number of groundkeeping staff employed and a barman or two,

The clubhouse was designed by another BP ex-Pat employee, J.F.Parker.
Pure coincidence that Mr & Mrs Parker left Trinidad about this time and returned to the UK. We had little contact with them apart from the odd letter and Christmas card and I think once they collected me from boarding school in the Uk and took me out for lunch.
However more remarkably after my mother died in 1979, my father some months late got a call from Mrs  Gwen Parker, now long divorced. She had heard of my mother's death and in the phone call mentioned she was still actively playing golf in Durham. My father had since the 70's hardly swung a club and the idea of a round persuaded him to visit Gwen even though he wasn't overly enthusiastic. A year or so later she became my stepmother and golf, my father's passion again.

see 30/5/1958

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.