Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

The Amazonian

On 8th November 1972 I describe the day I got my first car and somewhere way down in the text mention an Amazonian girl, Sue Pepper, who trusted herself to get in the machine.

I can't for the life of me remember how we met as I am pretty sure she was attending the Teacher Training College on the southern outskirts of Norwich but the group with which I was "hanging out" were mainly from the Tech and a few from the Norwich university - University of East Anglia (UAE).

Who knows and I can't remember much of what we got up to. I know she was an outdoor sporty type and days and nights with a group, in and around the various Norfolk Broads, huts, camp fires and carefree, early summer days.

She then took off to the Americas for an extended visit and from memory when she got back, I had moved on.

This is the postcard she sent after Mexico (she doesn't admit to having been in the Amazon Basin) and on her way to camp in the Grand Canyon  moving to Oklahoma, New York & Washington, Montreal, Hamilton and Ontario...

She writes sideways on the card asking me to ring her parents to say the card had arrived (and presumably she was safe and well). She included the telephone number as I had never met or spoken to them. I do remember making the call.

Nice girl but I doubt I could have matched her sporting streak.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.