Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

What now

One of the problems to accompany for many months was the exhaust. I think you can see the kink in the big bend on the right side. Norfolk tracks and the odd pot hole were not very forgiving. Not sure how long I managed to keep it.

I can't think the exhaust was great for performance but at this point it was still the small 1100cc motor. Back then had no money to buy any new or used bits, no Ebay back then.

The following summer I was able through a friendly VW Beetle nut to get an old used 1200cc motor and as a bonus it had 12V electrics and I could at long last get half decent light bulbs.

Can't remember what I did for a radio but assume 6 Volt radios were available back then. In Car Music Entertainment Systems were very rare back then. I knew someone at college who had imported a huge Stereo 8-track for a car with expensive pre recorded songs.. Cassettes were getting to be known for cars but expensive. The Sony Walkman wasn't to launched for another 7 years!

So had to keep dreaming at the photos and ads in the VW fan club magazines from the newsagent. I doubt I could always afford to buy a copy and probably spent too much time in W.H. Smith's drooling over a new gearstick knob or similar.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.