stujphoto

By stujphoto

Flower Still Life

It was pouring with rain all day today so any thoughts I had of taking photographs outside were killed off as soon as I stepped outside the door.. It's absolutely ages since I have done a flower still life. So long that it took me ages to remember where I had stored away my backgrounds. I eventually caught up with them in the study and went for my favourite black velvet background which kills most of the shadows and tends to focus the eye on the saturated colours of the flowers. The flowers to hand were a bunch of roses purchased a couple of weeks ago so they we're well past their best but the little shower of petals I faced when I arranged them on the backcloth actually added to the composition, or so I thought. A small aperture for back to front sharpness and we were away. I really enjoy this type of photography so maybe I will use it again over the winter months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.