Insanity

You may well think I've lost my marbles.  A LEGO set!  I feel I ought to dedicate this Blip to Lego Dude, but it's my 2000th Blip.

It started when we were watching a TV doco over Christmas all about the Lego company (Called Beyond the Brick, I think); which was interesting (I was about to say fascinating, but that's too strong a term).  A few days later we had to visit a toy shop to buy a gift for the Rower's Granddaughter, and saw this whole wall of Lego kits.  Serendipity you might say.  I'd say insanity.

We bought our very first Lego kit of Frank Lloyd Wright's masterpiece, the Guggenheim Museum, and spent the next few days building it.  The very last brick went on this morning - and given that it's going to be 41 degrees C out there today, it was clear that Guggy was going to feature as my 2000 Blip.  No chance of a field trip down to Goolwa or up to Laratinga for birds, which would have been my first choice.  It's a hell of a leap from bird photography to building a Lego kit.

The saddest thing is that we are now addicted to Lego.  I know!  Who'd have thought.  Not that I'm going to give away all our secrets - you'll have to keep watching to see what the next project is going to be.

Of course, thanks to Joe Tree for starting this whole crazy merry-go-round; and thanks also to Polaroid because without them and their catastrophic take-over attempt, Blip would not have grown in to the self-supporting, strong community that it is today.

I guess I'll be back tomorrow - I told you; insanity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.