Let There Be Light

By solli

Harriet

circus cyaneus ~ Northern Harrier Hawk

Where on earth do I begin? I've had so many excellent adventures today!

The bald eagle flew in front of my car twice and I almost veered off the road trying to get a snap of it. Not a good thing! Nothing came out clear but at least I got his bald head! I hurried back to the Nature Conservancy with the news and was told that there's a mated pair who have taken up residency in South Cape May. The locals spot them all the time. "Keep looking in the sky" one elderly gent told me. I did keep looking and I fired off four shots of a distant wing span which upon close inspection turned out to be some kid's wind kite!

I had better luck with a Sharp-Shinned Hawk, and the female Northern Harrier who was cruising the banks at the South Meadows. For another peek at her please click here!

The cold front we had last week brought many hawks, Peregrine falcons and Merlins into town. The warmer weather has aroused the butterflies that are still lingering here and I was able to spot the Monarchs a few tiny Painted Ladies, a yellow sulpher, and something I need to check the book for. All were in the woods of Higbee Beach.

On the small bird front I was able to spot an Eastern Towhee, a few Carolina chickadees, a Carolina wren, a red breasted nuthatch, some very pretty starlings, tons of Siskins and goldfinches, a red bellied woodpecker and an indigo bunting. No picture of the bunting but I'll post what I do have to flickr after I sort through them all when I get home.

I backed into a wooden rail as I was trying to maneuver out of the meadow's parking lot and bashed a ridge into my hatch door. I must be more tired than I am willing to admit.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.