Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

The king and the bean

Today in Spain it is "Reyes" (Kings) a.k.a. Epiphany and it's the traditional present giving day in Spain. On this day it is also traditional to eat the "Roscon de Reyes", a ring of puff pastry with a marzipan filling and various candied fruits as decoration. It is meant to represent a crown.

The roscon normally contains a small gift and a bean. If you get the slice containing the gift then the year will bring you good fortune. If you get the bean then you pay for the roscon, which will cost you a fortune.

Our gift was a king. Daughter C assures me that it is king "Baltazar". She knows about these things from her childhood, watching the kings' street procession on their arrival the evening before Reyes when she and the other children would shout out their names as they passed on their floats: "Baltazar!", "Melchor!" "Gaspar!".

The picture is of the remains of the roscon that we had for breakfast. We had another after lunch (pictured intact - see extra).

Having received the tidings, just before Christmas, that I have diabetes I've put myself on a diet and cakes etc are now strictly off the menu. Nevertheless I allowed myself an exception for Reyes to partake in the two roscons. Likewise I allowed myself one glass of sparkling cider to toast the New Year. Apart from that no alcohol. Now its back to my salad days (in the sense of  tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce and sadly not in the sense of youthful heyday, hey ho).

Anyhow, six days in a row with a blip so far in 2018. Let's see if I can keep it up. I'm taking a tip from another member here on blipfoto. He explained that he takes a bunch of photos everyday and blips the best of them regardless. Some days there'll be the time and inspiration to blip something better, but on those days when there is neither, at least there won't be a visual void, a blip black hole.

Hope everyone here has a blipping great 2018!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.