The drum

The drum is important in many Indigenous cultures.  Some of the most powerful experiences I've had have been in cultural ceremonies in the bighouse in Cowichan territory, when the drumming and singing start in one section then increase in strength and volume as other sections join in.  It's impossible to describe the intensity of the emotion aroused.  
G and I have been so lucky to have been introduced to some of the Indigenous cultures from BC and across Canada and the north by students and instructors we've worked with in NITEP, the Indigenous teacher education program at UBC.  Cultural studies were included in the program, and elders and community members often joined the classes to share Indigenous knowledge and traditions.  One workshop was with an elder who made drums.  He had enough treated deer skins for each student and myself to make a drum.  On the day of the class, we were joined by Dr. Lester Rigney, our good friend from Australia who was visiting and who shared some of his Indigenous Australian knowledge.  Of course I stepped back and he took my place in making a drum.  What an incredible class that was, and I thoroughly enjoyed walking around taking photos and observing each step of the process.  The drum in this photo was made that day by Mistea, one of the students, and she had a local artist Semeletze  (Stuart Pagaduan) paint the hummingbird and flower on it then gifted it to me.  I was thrilled by her thoughtfulness, and it's a gift that I treasure.   
Many of the students were drummers and singers, and it was always a gift when music was included in the classroom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.