Chilled

My first of many parkrun tourist runs today.  

Mersea Island

My 'report' follows.

After my 2017 metamorphosis into a parkrunner,  I decided to do some parkrun tourism in 2018 and, loving a spreadsheet and some goals, to try and do all of the Essex parkruns this year.
Having changed my mind several times about which would be my first foray into tourism, I finally settled on Mersea Island.  Why Mersea?  I've looked at the various run homepages so have a rough idea on the type of course, usual number of runners, average times etc.  Some of the events may challenge my navigational skills but Mersea Island is one of the closest to where I live and  I've visited the park many times so know how to get there.
It was due to be a frosty start which would hopefully mean the ground would be relatively solid but. in my best 'organised' mode, I sorted out my 'kit' the night before, including spare footwear in case of extreme mud, mittens, music, change for parking meter and of course, my Apricot tee.
My maps app told me it would take 29 minutes so I calculated that if I left home at around 7.45 which is when I usually leave to help set up in Maldon Prom Park I'd have plenty of time for a quick recce and toilet trip before the first timers briefing.  The one thing that I didn't spot in the 'how to get there info was a reminder that the Strood can get covered at high tide but I did remember to check this too and knew that it wouldn't be a factor today.   After I de-iced my car, I set off at 7:52 and my temperature guage fwas reading 1C, The sun was just breaking through as I crossed the road to the island and I noticed a frost covered BMW sports car that looked to have broken down, hoping it would be recovered before the tide came in.  Just after the road splits, a large lorry had come off and was now completely blocking the usual route to East Mersea so I had to take a slight detour to the park and arrived in 35 minutes, stopping briefly for a very bad selfie with the Cudmore Grove sign.
Arriving at the car park I could already see lots of parkrun evidence with markers and signs visible straight ahead.   Next, I spotted Roy who I used to work with and Rachel who I'd met one before when volunteering at Saltmarsh 75 event.  Happy that I'd at least have 2 people to chat to, I headed for the meter.  Like Maldon I have a choice of 1 hour (not long enough as I arrive early and am slow) or 3 hours (plenty of time on a chilly morning as I want to get home for a cooked breakfast). Unlike the ones in Maldon, this one wanted my registration plate; slightly challenging with my chilly fingers.  With that challenge overcome, I headed for the toilets (more modern and definitely warmer than in Maldon).  I've done a few litter picking activities over the last few years and having known about the 2 minute beach cleaning station on site, d hoped to complete a 2 minute beach clean before the first timer briefing but sadly that will have to wait for another day (perhaps I'll do that and some volunteering at Mersea too).
Like Maldon, prior to 8:45, there were not too many people about who were not wearing a hi viz and then lots of people began to arrive.  I was pleased to see that there appeared to be a good mix of people of different ability there and a few 4 legged partners (I have been known to take more pictures of the dogs than the runners when I have my camera with me in Maldon).  I chatted with a couple of the volunteers and waited for the briefing which started promptly at 8:50. Our run director, who I suspect from her accent was not born on the island, showed the handful of first timers a laminated map and talked us through the route.  We were promised the main briefing would be kept brief because of the cold weather and thankfully it was and we set off from the grassy start , near to where I'd parked.
For me, the start was more relaxed than at my home run.  With fewer runners and a wide area to set off from I quickly got off to my usual (slow) pace as we headed across the grass to a wooded area.  The volunteers had cleared, what I suspect, would have been quite a few branches from the pathways (well done) The path through the wooded area was muddy and there were leaves and roots to watch out for but by this point the majority of people had passed me and I was beginning to warm up.  At the quarter mile point I was passed by a runner and a gorgeous/lively husky/malumite? dog who were going at a pace that left me doubting I'd see them again (I didn't ).   We turned right out of the wooded area and onto a gravel pathway that ran parallel to the sea wall.  I grew up near this water and the low sun on the mud never fails to make me smile and today it didn't disappoint.    
Leaving the gravel, we were back on another muddy path and the views to my left, through trees continued to make me smile.   There were few people around me by this point which was something that I was unaccustomed to from my Maldon runs and I pondered that it would have been easy to go off course had the team not done such a good job with the signs and markers and were it not for the team of marshals directing us.  
At around this point I became aware of Rachel who I mentioned earlier and another, younger lady who were running and then walking at a pace, overall similar to mine.  They'd run past me and then slow to a walk, whereby I'd overtake them.  Soon after I'd be overtaken again and so it would continue.  The young lady did remove her hat part way which, for a brief moment, made me think I'd lost her but I hadn't.  Hopefully she remembered to take it home.
Heading toward the wood for the second time, I was pleased to see the 4 legged supporter still there and found out his name was Pudja (hopefully he will excuse my, no doubt, incorrect spelling)
As I reached the end of the gravel pathway I spotted the first of the faster runners heading for the finish and the people around me were fewer still.   We continued on and with a slight change to direction and one more trip through the wood to go, lots of people approaching the finish passed me.  Nearly there, I passed the now hatless young lady again and told her I was counting on her beating me.   In the now customary fashion, she passed me again shortly after, smiling and striding to a finish 3 positions ahead of me.  A big shout out to the junior who came in ahead of me too.  Having MUCH longer legs than these runners, it always amazes me to see their speedy finishes.
And I was done.  Phew.  I got my breath back and cheered a few other people over the finish including Bumble the Staffordshire bull terrier who was doing an excellent steering job.    Then I put my coat back on and got my barcode scanned.  Position 65! Double figures.  Another excellent reason to return as I rarely see under 200 on my home run.  
Thank you Mersea Island parkrunners.  I definitely made the right choice for my first bit of tourism and will see you all again for sure.

Michelle

ps. My result email arrived as I finished typing this so I am able to shout out 'more personally' to Amy 'wearer of the hat/my pacer for the day' and to WIlliam and Ian (first timers – woo hoo) who finished just ahead of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.