James River at 0 degrees

Anyone else have a spouse who gets so excited about the thought of the River freezing over that he gets everyone up at the crack of dawn to go check it our or am I the only one lucky that way?

Actually everyone was quite enthusiastic (me, after coffee) and we went downtown to see if the River had frozen over.  An older gentleman we knew had told my husband that he had seen horses crossing the river one year during a cold spell.

Horses could not cross this morning - maybe a very light squirrel - or chipmunk.  (But why would they - oh my gosh it was cold.)  

It was absolutely stunning, tho.  And our kids are old enough now that they were able to completely enjoy themselves.  It was a fabulous thing.  My daughter took some amazing arty shots with her phone camera.  My son found interesting ice structures.  My husband was so happy to share the morning with them (and me).  

I am so happy to have gotten these smiling eyes.  (in the extras)

I'll leave you with the observation  my daughter made looking at the ice between the rocks " The ice is like different length strings stretched  between the rocks, and when you step on some, they break and make music"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.