#100days - '85: leaving home on Independence Day

Thursday July 4th, 1985 was the day I left home. Having completed a journalism diploma at ATI [now the Auckland University of Technology], I was offered a job at the Daily News branch office in Hawera, Taranaki. That meant a drive of more than 250 miles [400+ km], taking 5-6 hours. Dad came outside and took this photo of me, proudly posing by my newly purchased secondhand car, a Mark II Ford Cortina, and off I drove.

I didn't know the radiator was well past its prime, as I discovered when I laboured up the Bombay Hills, south of Auckland. Back then there were traffic lights at the top of the hills. When I stopped, steam started pouring out from under the bonnet. I pulled over into a nearby garage, panicking wildly as I knew nothing about cars [and still don't, to be honest].

Foolishly, I opened the bonnet. Even more foolishly, I opened the radiator cap, not realising there was boiling water inside bursting to get out. That exploded out the radiator like a geyser, blowing my glasses off and scalding the inside of one wrist.

A mechanic came out and warned me not to do anything else until the radiator cooled down. Eventually I refilled the radiator with water and continued driving south, somewhat more circumspectly. I had to refill the radiator every 50 miles or so, but the real problem was my wrist.

The scalding was not good, putting me in considerable pain. About halfway to my destination I found a chemist and got some lotion to ease the burning. Thanks to all the stopping and starting, it took me eight or nine hours to reach my destination, only just getting to the office at Hawera before it shut for the night.

All in all, not the auspicious start to my life as functioning adult!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.