Dexter, the Lap Cat

They say you can tell the temperature by the length of the cat. In the summertime, a cat is long; all sprawled out. In July, we usually see our longest cat of the year.

But in the winter time, a cat curls up and cuddles, all tucked together in a round (or meatloaf-esque, in our case) ball. Dexter is a pro at this winter thing. He knows how to tuck and curl to stay warm. He also knows that I am a sucker for tabbies; in winter, we are never far apart, and you may often find us snuggled together under a blankie in the master bedroom.

Alas, I was slow to snuggle on this afternoon. I was putting a few things away after lunch, maybe getting ready to wash some dishes. And the cat couldn't wait any longer: he needed a lap, and he needed one NOW! Lap needed . . . STAT!

Then my husband made the mistake of sitting down to read a book in my favorite chair in the living room, and the cat was ON him, just like that; like a heat-seeking missile, really. There wasn't even time to grab a blanket. Just: BOOM! Lap Cat!

You can see what is perhaps a somewhat defiant look on Dexter's face. Is that face saying, "You took too LONG, Mom! I had to find another lap!" Or is it saying, "I shall not be moved!"? Or maybe some of both!

You may also see my husband's right hand, curled around the cat, petting his thick, soft fur. (I could never have married a man who didn't absolutely ADORE cats, in case you were wondering.) A happy scene: father and son, catching some snuggle time together on a cold winter's afternoon.

The soundtrack song is Cat Stevens, with Father and Son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.