Relearning

The new shopping centre has been open a bit over 10 weeks now. Old roads and paths have gone, roads that were closed for 18 months have reopened and new ones have appeared, both round the centre and through it. I used to know my way around this area intuitively, or so it felt, to wherever I wanted to go whether on foot or by bike. Now I have to think where the new tracks are and work out where they connect. As I move around I feel that I’m laying down my own faint trails which I’ll be able to follow better next time. And as my paths through the new become stronger, what used to be here fades.

Meanwhile I have picked up the unfamiliar Nikon and am seeing whether I can make my hands recognise it. I am clumsy and slow and feel frustrated. Yet, yet… I see some birds wheeling in the sun and some connection between my brain and my fingers knows that if I adjust this fast lens quickly to a high shutter speed I can freeze them in the air. And I do. Not well enough to add as an extra, but much better than I'd ever get with the Olympus zoom. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.