MM 207; Classic. Pentax to Pen F

I had no idea that when Anniemay mentioned the mono-monday challenge was ‘classic’ it would end up as long trip down memory lane.  I’ll spare you the really long version, that came as I sat with my coffee.

The Pentax S range of cameras launched in 1958 were beautifully designed classic cameras.  

I bought this Pentax S1 secondhand in late 1965.  It cost £55.00 - I know because I sold my Lambretta scooter to pay for it.  (I was a Mod at the time.)  And I was able to sell my scooter because I had just learnt to drive courtesy of my then employer.  

I got £80 for the scooter and with the £25 left over, bought a car from a mate.  That’s right; the secondhand camera cost more than the secondhand car.  I had my priorities right even then.

The car incidentally was an Austin A40 Somerset - bench seat and 3-speed column shift gears.  Younger blippers may have to ask their parents/grandparents.

Why a Pentax S1?  Because I couldn’t afford a Nikon F.  Why black rather than the more ubiquitous silver?  I’d seen a picture of a black Nikon F in a National Geographic magazine.  And it did look cool.  (Once a Mod always a Mod.)

In the background is my Olympus Pen F - itself based on another classic design - the original Pen F.  

I doubt that in another 50 years time a secondhand camera will cost more than a secondhand car.  I also doubt that a 50-year old digital camera will still function.  The Pentax does though.  Classic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.