From Now On...

By rachelwhynot

Victoria Station, main entrance...

We popped up to Victoria Street this afternoon. SO much re-development going on up there! D worked there for some years but the Town Hall has now been relocated to the Strand and the building will become something else much more grand! 

We rarely exit from the mainline station; usually taking the underground from there to elsewhere, so today I stopped to appreciate the architecture which I read includes a baroque caryatid , which is:

caryatid (/kæriˈætɪd/ kair-ee-AT-id; Greek: Καρυάτις, plural: Καρυάτιδες) is a sculpted female figure serving as an architectural support taking the place of a column or a pillar supporting an entablature on her head. The Greek term karyatides literally means "maidens of Karyai", an ancient town of Peloponnese


My little Fuji XQ2 did well to capture the detail for me ...my extra...even when cropped. 


REALLY happy to be home again as it's been a really cold and dull day.


I bought some swimming goggles this morning with the intention of embarking on a Monday morning swim.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.