stujphoto

By stujphoto

Ice Crystals

A heavy frost last night meant there was another chance for me to practice some extreme macro photography. The frost formations on the outside of our summer house were particularly spiky and sharp so I tried to capture these. The only difficulty was that the spikes stuck out in all directions so it was difficult to get an image that was sharp from back to front. I tried to photostack but the light levels were so low that I had to massively over-expose to preview the image on the back of the camera and then return to a reasonable exposure level to take the shot so there was always the danger of camera movement between shots especially at this level of magnification. However, I always marvel at the amount detail in the individual ice crystals that go to form frost patterns. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.