Instography

By Instography

More loaf

Over the 10 years I’ve been keeping a sourdough starter my habit has, for no good reason other than storage capacity, to maintain a small amount of starter and to refresh it with enough flour and water for the next recipe. Recently, I’ve been letting the volume of starter build up so that the flour and water used to refresh it makes a smaller proportion of the total and more of each loaf’s leaven comes from older more flavoursome starter. I’ve only baked a couple of loaves so far but I think the theory works.

In other news, piano teacher signed off on the old tune even though my playing was gruesome. I think she's skeptical of my choice of new tunes. Not that it's too difficult. Playing the notes isn't the problem. It's the speed and interpretation - accents on some notes, slurs, etc - that I just don't have the technical skill for. I just haven't put in the hours to have developed that. (I'm paraphrasing - she's not that brutal). Still, we'll see how it goes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.