Summer 1979

After talking about summer vacation with the girls, I realized I had some old footage that my parents shot when my brother and I were kids. I processed the 1979 summer holiday video, which took us to Hermagor in Austria. Shortly after we arrived, my brother broke his arm in the playground and we moved to a different campsite, closer to the city of Villach where Erwin was in hospital. It was the first time ever we were abroad and I remember everything so well. I talked to the girls about going there this year for summer holiday. I don’t know if this wil actually happen but it would be weird and fun to return to the place where I spent my first summer holiday in a foreign country.

This shot shows me and my dad walking on a bridge across river Drau in Villach, where we were daily to visit my brother. I remember visiting the Wienerwald restaurant in Villach where I had Wiener schnitzel with French fries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.