The Scent of Pie

Nothing beats the gentle aroma from an apple pie baking in the oven. It is said that your pie adventure begins and ends with the crust. I’m sure there’s more than one way to make a delicious crust. My Nana always made her pie crust with Crisco. So today as I bake Pie #2 for my father, I got out my rolling pin and the Crisco to begin this adventure.
Sometimes you can recover from one mistake while you’re baking but usually not after two or three mistakes like I did today. My last mistake was big! Baking the pie at 450 was only to last for 10 minutes and for the remainder of the time at 350. Alas I did not communicate very well with my oven. While the smell was delicious and tantalizing, this pie was not going to consumed! Sorry dad. You’ll get your apple pie soon just not today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.