Mono Monday - Classic

A little chronologically confused in upload times, owing to Tuesday's long day in Cardiff, but this is my Mono Monday contribution.

I had no idea what constitutes "classic" if you don't own a car older than 40 years ... but these occurred to me. 

These are "nixie" tubes. And they are what used to be used to represent information on electronic systems _before_ LCD digital displays were invented. 

These are Russian ИВ-4 tubes, and owing to an e-bay misunderstanding instead of 10, I have 30 ( which I happened to obtain at a price that I thought was pretty good for 10 ! ) I don't happen to have a manufacture date for these tubes, but I suspect that it was prior to, or during the 1970's - the decade when the LCD screen really took off.

They are part of a (very) long term project to build a computer controlled display - something similar to what you can see in this clock

They do, I believe, qualify as a "classic" electronic display & hence my submission !

Thanks Skeena for the challenge on this one !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.