Same view, different weather

I went out to the house thinking it would be sun and warmth. Thunder had moved in over night and as I loaded into the car the slimy old pond-liner it had taken me such effort to remove the heavens opened.

Finding the municipal dump was not easy. The first one at Porrena was closed and the second one was not on the by-pass slip road but tucked away with no signage down a dead-end. Even then I had to wait to be admitted through a barrier, go to the weighbridge, present myself to the uncovered kiosk to give name and serial number (aka the fiscal code) before I was directed to the non-recyclable part of the dump.

A kind if somewhat surly woman in high vis gear with an umbrella let me dump the stuff in a pile that she would 'take care of later'. Then back to the weighbridge and smiles and a wave before I was on my way.

It was that kind of rain that merits a drive to Crianlarich - unstoppable and immoveable that obliterates and despoils in equal measure.

I felt pretty miserable by the time I got back to the house - the dump is at a placed fittingly called Le Tombe. The rain had clearly affected the builders and they had left for an early lunch or to finish up jobs not exposed to the rain.

I pottered around for the rest of the day burning up old hardboard and fiddling with a rusty lock that would not open. At one point it threatened to clear up but by the time I left it was extra-gloomy with clouds hugging the surrounding hills.

The rest of week is forecast for sun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.